Home > Experience Jewelry > TIME and TIME AGAIN-( guest blogger, Jeff Volan)

TIME and TIME AGAIN-( guest blogger, Jeff Volan)

Yet another guy seems to know more about jewelry and…women then I might  have given him credit for. (and is a pretty good writer for a business entrepreneur) So with my data on my crashed computer “just” recovered–and deadlines keeping me up all night–I am turning one more week’s post over to another guest blogger. But, hey..if you are having  as much fun reading the guys as I am, please feel free to write in and ask for more!

Guest Blogger-Jeff Volan

Image

ID Bracelet

BINGO, my Mom seemed to shout as she rounded up another well to do Jewish widower. Marv was my second stepfather and he popped the question on the first date!  Seriously? Another new Dad already? I can’t completely recall, but my Mom must have been a real looker. However I do remember Marv. Medium height and build and a bit on the geeky, nerdy side, he drove a Lincoln Continental, when they were huge and made of solid Pennsylvania steel.

It didn’t take long for Mom to become used to the finer things. Tickets to the NYC Ballet, Symphony and Opera were weekly ventures, which I managed to stay out of. Instead, she dragged me on all day shopping sprees and out for high noon tea. But as a thirteen year-old boy, I knew I had better things to do, like play football and kiss as many girls as possible. It was the age of the I.D. Bracelet and the presentation to the opposite sex represented that we were “going steady”. It took a lot of thought before offering this hunk of metal, with my name etched into it in CAPITAL letters, with a heavy duty chain that slide into the end until it clicked shut. The standard practice was to get it back after the inevitable break up three weeks to a month later.

Around the same time I began asking girls to go steady, I also began to observe how deeply Marv cared for my Mother and I learned a few things about women. A couple of times a week, he’d show up with flowers “just because” and quite often strolled through the front door with jewelry. Once with Marv in NYC, I stared blindly into the cases in a small shop where silver, gold, diamonds and gems were displayed.  This was all new to me,   big time stuff with big time price tags. While in the store I was struck by a girl around the same age as me. She was playing with a large heart shaped pendant set with two beautiful Ceylon sapphires that were the color of her eyes. The girl, like the pendant, was perfectly arranged, dazzling yet spoke silently and mesmerized me.  Although surrounded by precious gems, I so wished I had my ID bracelet with me. I would have wrapped it around her wrist right then and there, without a second thought.  We began to share some smiles then stories, and with the counter person looking on  the girl handed me the pendant dangling from a chain. It had texture, substance and character. It felt like I was touching something much more than just a necklace. As the girl and I exchanged names and continued to talk and laugh, I finally understood Marv’s instant proposal to my mother. And,I quickly leaned over and kissed her.

  

I’ve traveled to a few places since my younger years, from the gold souks in Dubai to hunting for fresh pearls under the sea. I once wore a Saint Christopher around my neck, until it completed its promise to protect me. These medallions only work once, so I didn’t push my luck. It remains somewhere in a country far, far away.

 

Today, I stand with no watch, no ring, no bracelet or anything (and sound a bit like a Dr. Suess rhyme) but I can attest to the power of adornment. Recently while visiting my Mom, she showed me some of her jewelry collection. An eclectic mix that she received as gifts and even a few self purchased pieces. She told me stories that went with each and I could see in her eyes that these were much more than material possessions. This jewelry was a part of her life and her history: cameos past down from my grandmother and a vintage fob watch owned by my great grandfather. It was a great opportunity to get to know my Mom a bit better.

 

During our visit, my mom was still dragging me shopping, and I saw her walking towards me on the street — the girl who had held the pendant in the store 39 years before.  I could never forget her or how she captured me the first time. And, she is still most beautiful, still has the prettiest “sapphire” eyes I’ve ever seen. She remembered me too, hugged me warmly, like no time had passed, and in that moment, spoke to me silently.  I felt mesmerized all over again.

Categories: Experience Jewelry
  1. Linda
    March 5, 2012 at 9:59 AM

    Loved your story Jeff and make sure when we see you in August you wear your ID Bracelet

  2. Jodi
    March 5, 2012 at 11:37 AM

    Wow Jeff… never really knew this side of you…. all the romance… my husband just brought home his ID bracelet from his Mom’s house a few weeks ago… what memories are all bottled up in all our jewelry… Beth better watch out… her guest bloggers are doing an awesome job of keeping everyones attention

  3. Michele
    March 5, 2012 at 11:42 AM

    Lovely description of a kid’s ‘love’ for a little girl and of your love for your mother. The first part reminded me of some De Sica movies from the 1950s: same innoent and star struck (do you say that?) atmosphere. The ending sounds like the open-eyed dreams I often had about a certain girl or woman. Fresh and lovely.

  4. moritz glik
    March 5, 2012 at 11:51 AM

    It’s amazing how 39 years goes by and “that” great moment still so vivid!! Love it…Looking forward to meet you Jeff

  5. March 5, 2012 at 2:25 PM

    Jeff:

    Isn’t it amazing how time can just stand still?…even if just for a moment or two or three?….Something about the simplicity of our youthful fantasies that allows them to endure,despite the complexities of the present.

    I really enjoyed reading your blog and I so admire your willingness to share your thoughts and tender memories

  6. March 5, 2012 at 2:29 PM

    great story jeff1 i remember the first i-d braclet i bought, from a store by the new city cinema. i cant remember if it was 4th or 5th grade but every one was buying them for one reason or another.i bought it for malissa shapiro i think that was her name. she lived on north little tor a few houses down from donna gibbons .it was a short lived romance which resulted in from what i recall malissa never dating boys again. so like george costanza i drove her to the other team!

  7. Robin Gromel
    March 5, 2012 at 5:27 PM

    OMG Jeff, what a great story! I loved it and loved the romance side as well! My dad wore an ID bracelet just like this one and still have it! My parents also bought me an ID bracelet for one of my younger birthdays. A little smaller and more delicate but still in the ID era.Keep writing, love your stories. Looking forward to more!!

  8. Debbie
    March 5, 2012 at 8:50 PM

    Wow Jeff, I am so moved by your story! You brought back so many memories that I had long forgotten. I remember what a big deal it was to wear ones ID bracelet & to go “steady.” I wore a few in my day – of course I don’t think I had any for more than a week or two… Thank you for bringing back a memory I had tucked away. You are a beautiful writer & a wonderful man!

  9. jv
    March 5, 2012 at 8:54 PM

    I appreciate all the comments. It was Beth who prompted me to tell this story, to exemplify that everyone has a jewelry tale to tell, even the most unexpected of people, such as myself. Not only is Beth a great writer, but she’s brings out the best in other people’s stories as well. I may only rate a paragraph or two in her book, but I truly can’t wait to read “My Charmed Life”, written by my favorite writer, who also has beautiful blue eyes.

  10. March 5, 2012 at 11:10 PM

    @everyone who commented: So glad you were all as excited about Jeff’s post today as me: proves that guys also have an attachment to jewelry–and that each of us can evoke tender memories universally I love that and hope I have done that with my memoir “My Charmed Life” and in prior blogs. Also to l all that made comments , let you in on a little secret: Like “Paolo”, Jeff is also in “My Charmed Life” and I am quite sure when those of you who know him read it–you will be able to figure out who he is. And those of you who don’t know him..stayed tuned… Once again–so happy your read today!!! thank all of you. And thank you Jeff for what you said.

  11. Carrie
    March 5, 2012 at 11:14 PM

    I truly enjoyed reading your jewelry story Jeff! It was beautifully written and wonderful of you to be so candid. It brought back a long ago ID bracelet memory for me as well. I was in the seventh grade and was asked to go steady with the acceptance of an ID bracelet. It was only after reading your blog that I am now recalling that I never did give that bracelet back…… I think I will be up all night ridden with guilt! Sorry RONNIE!

  12. March 6, 2012 at 1:10 AM

    again love all these memories Jeff is conjuring up for everyone. In my book I have a “going steady” chapter which I don’t think they call it anymore. Thanks everyone for having a story to share on the blog and keep writing your tales…as you will read all about mine (in full detail (; (; —. It makes me feel so good that you can all relate so well and connect your memories to pieces of jewelry as I have done. It makes me think that people will actually purchase the book. Which would be a very good thing (: (:

  13. March 6, 2012 at 8:22 AM

    I love the line, “I can attest to the power of adornment”…I need to borrow that phrase!
    nicely written from the heart!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment